Delta Demography

demographyThe impact of demographic change is becoming increasingly palpable. With baby boomers beginning to reach retirement age in 2015 and the German population set to shrink by some seven million people to number 75 million by the year 2050, this coupled with society’s rising age profile is going to place enormous burdens on our social welfare systems. Not only that: Many professional sectors will lack the young people to fill the gap as the older generations drop out of the workforce. Companies need to be both innovative and flexible to overcome these challenges.

Applicants over the age of 50 already enjoy a much greater level of acceptance these days. Whereas age used to put a person out of the running for a post ten years ago, candidates aged 50+ have very good chances with employers today. By implication this does mean that the age gap in the workplace is becoming more extreme, with older members of the workforce coming up against the generation twice removed from their own. The middle generation, mediators between old and young, is becoming progressively smaller. There is the potential for conflict in this situation, and employers need to respond with flexible work models tailored to the needs of the different generations. Prominent examples include occupational health management, teleworking arrangements and business process digitization.

The various aspects and effects of demographic change must not be underestimated in the executive search process. Having been identified as a crucial market development and a key challenge, Delta Demography is therefore one of three central pillars integrated in the portfolio of services offered by Delta Management Consultants 

Anja Schelte

Lead Partner for Delta Delta Demography:

“Demographic change calls for a paradigm shift in the corporate landscape. The methods of the past will not enable success in the future.”

Delta Demography

demographyDie Auswirkungen des demografischen Wandels werden immer spürbarer. Ab 2015 geht die Babyboomer-Generation in Rente. Bis zum Jahr 2050 schrumpft die deutsche Bevölkerung um rund sieben Millionen Menschen auf 75 Millionen – bei steigendem Altersdurchschnitt: Dies hat eine enorme Belastung für die Sozialsysteme zur Folge. Zudem wird es in vielen Berufszweigen an Nachwuchskräften fehlen. Unternehmen müssen diesen Entwicklungen mit Innovationen und Flexibilität begegnen.

Die Akzeptanz gegenüber Bewerbern ab 50 ist bereits deutlich gestiegen. Während das Alter vor zehn Jahren noch ein K.-o-Kriterium bei der Besetzung war, haben Kandidaten 50+ heute sehr gute Chancen. Im Umkehrschluss bedeutet dies allerdings auch, dass die Altersdiskrepanz in den Unternehmen stärker wird: Ältere Mitarbeiter treffen auf die übernächste Generation: die Mittelschicht, die als Vermittler zwischen Alt und Jung fungiert, wird immer kleiner. Dies birgt Konfliktpotential, dem Unternehmen mit flexiblen, auf die Generationen zugeschnittenen Arbeitsmodellen begegnen müssen. Dazu zählen insbesondere das betriebliche Gesundheitsmanagement (BGM), Home-Office-Regelungen und die Digitalisierung der Geschäftsprozesse.

Bei der Beratung und Besetzung von Führungskräften sind die Aspekte und Auswirkungen des demografischen Wandels ein nicht zu vernachlässigender Faktor. Delta Demography ist vor diesem Hintergrund eine der drei Kern-Säulen, die die Delta Management Consultants GmbH als entscheidende Marktentwicklung- und Herausforderung definiert und in der Konsequenz in das Beratungsportfolio integriert.

Anja Schelte

Verantwortlich für Delta Demography:

„Der demografische Wandel erfordert ein Umdenken in der Unternehmenslandschaft. Wir können heute und morgen nicht mit Methoden von gestern erfolgreich sein.“